Posted by: waterwalkerla | March 10, 2010

Sometimes You Just Have To Laugh (To Keep From Crying)

Here…there’s something I want to show you…

Until Monday afternoon, that tire was mounted on my car.  Now, I know what you are thinking.  You are wondering how I drove my car with a less than circular tire.  Well, you see, until Monday afternoon that tire was in fact nice and round.

You may remember that my husband had outpatient knee surgery Monday.  After he was released from the surgery center, he was pretty hopped up on pain medicine and sedatives.  He told me to stop by the pharmacy on the way home to pick up his prescription for more pain medicine so I didn’t have to leave once we got home.  As I was pulling into a parking spot at the pharmacy, I noticed the car pulling hard to the left.  As soon as I got out of the car it was obvious why my car was pulling.  Yep, you guessed it, the no-longer-round-pictured-above-tire was to blame.

So, imagine if you will, my husband sitting in the car with his leg bandaged from toe to thigh, in pain and not really aware of where he was.  I have a bad back and am not physically able to change a tire any more.  Oh yeah, did I mention that we don’t have AAA.  This was definitely a laugh or cry moment!

Fortunately, we are blessed with a wonderful church family.  I called a friend of my husband who doesn’t work on Mondays and he dropped what he was doing, went and got his tools, and drove 30 minutes to meet us and change our tire.

Perhaps the Lord was trying to remind us how blessed we are.  Yeah, that must be it.  Either that or He was bored and needed a laugh.  I guess it could go either way.


Responses

  1. […] some down time to recover.  Then there was the trip home from the surgery center when we got a flat tire in the pharmacy parking lot and spent some extra time waiting for a wonderful friend of ours to […]

  2. […] following along, this month has been rather exciting around our house.  My husband had arthroscopic knee surgery at the beginning of the month.  This was covered by insurance yet it caused my husband to miss […]


Leave a comment

Categories