Posted by: waterwalkerla | March 9, 2010

Did I Tell You Our School Has A Mascot?

Before the beginning of our school year, the kids decided that we should have a name, mascot, and Bible verse for our Home School.  We quickly settled on Cobb Christian Academy for our school name – original, no?

Rather than my husband and I picking a verse for the school, we had each of the big kids select three verses from which we would choose.  The kids put so much thought into it that we couldn’t pick just one.  So, my husband and I picked a school verse and a Pre-School verse.  Then we used one of Rebecca’s verses as our Middle School verse and one of Timothy’s verses as our Elementary School verse.

Cobb Christian Academy verse:

Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation. The Lord God is my strength, and he will make my feet like hinds feet, and he will make me to walk upon my high places. Habakkuk 3:18-19.

Cobb Christian Academy Middle School verse:

For Whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.  Romans 15:4.

Cobb Christian Academy Elementary School verse:

The Lord is not slack concerning his promise as some men count slackness but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.  2 Peter 3:9.

Cobb Christian Academy Pre-School verse:

Children, obey your parents in the Lord:  for this is right.  Ephesians 6:1.

Once we had our school name and our verses prior to the start of the school year we sort of forgot about selecting a mascot until about two weeks ago.  We were having dinner and my son dropped his fork, looked at me and exclaimed, “Mama – guess what.  We forgot to pick a school mascot.  What if someone comes here and challenges us to a basketball game or something.  We can’t play if we don’t have a mascot.”

Now, I don’t know about you, but the thought of someone randomly showing up at my door and challenging my kids to a basketball game was something I found hysterical.  Of course, since it was my own child who suggested this, I couldn’t laugh out loud – as much as I wanted to.  So, I calmly told him that he was right and that we needed to do that.

We spent the rest of dinner trying to settle on a mascot.  Eagles got voted down because that was the mascot at their old Christian school.  Several other mascots got voted down as well.  Eventually we made our way to the feline family of mascots.  Wildcats, tigers, bobcats…and then, my son shouted, “I’ve got it!  The Cobbcatz!”

How could we resist.  We had to go with that.  So, there it is…We are the Cobbcatz.

During the week after we selected our mascot, the whole family came down with a cold.  We were coughing, sneezing, and basically miserable.  About 3 days into the plague, my son looked at me calmly and said

“Cobbcat fever…catch it!”

This time I couldn’t control it…I laughed and laughed and laughed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

