Posted by: waterwalkerla | February 26, 2010

Busy Few Weeks

Wow.  Looking around my blog, I realized that I haven’t posted much the last few weeks.  So much has been going on lately that I haven’t had much time to write.  Last week the kids were sick and my husband and I were trying to fight off colds ourselves.

We were also busy cleaning and doing projects around the house to prepare for a surprise visit from my parents.  Why was it a surprise, you might ask.  Well, my parents live about 8 hours away in West Virginia.  My maternal grandmother, who is 97, moved in with them about a year ago when she was no longer able to live by herself.  Her health has failed dramatically over the last year and so taking care of her is a full-time job.  My parents also help my paternal grandmother, who is 88.  My paternal grandmother still lives by herself but she needs help with grocery shopping and getting around town as she has never had a drivers license.  My parents have also been spending a lot of time with my mom’s sister who has stage 4 cancer and is not doing well.  Needless to say, it is hard for them to make plans to travel west to visit with us.

About 2 weeks ago, they called me and asked if they could come for a few days this week.  We agreed that it was a good time for a visit – especially since they hadn’t seen our kids since October – but decided to keep the visit a secret from the kids.  They didn’t know my parents were coming until they saw them drive into our driveway.  It was a wonderful surprise and everyone had a nice visit.  We even gave the kids the days off from school as mid-winter break so they could spend as much time as possible being spoiled by their grandparents.

As I sit here at the computer, the grandparents are gone and I am trying to catch up on the cleaning and writing I let slide over the last few weeks.  I am also watching it snow and blow outside, which is motivating me to stay in and get things around the house done.  I don’t mind being snowed it – it beats being out in the snow – and it gives me a chance to catch up on all my projects.  I am looking forward to teaching, writing, sewing, baking, organizing, and (even) cleaning.  I am also looking forward to saying goodbye to winter, but I guess that is another post!

Leave a Reply

Categories

